ACQS - American Council for Québec Studies

Quebec City

Welcome to ACQS website!

It is with great sadness that we share news of Myrna Delson-Karan's passing. Members of ACQS will remember well Myrna's warmth and generosity, as well as her tireless advocacy in support of Quebec studies. She was a stalwart member of ACQS and a driving force for ACSUS; in recognition of her work she was named Chevalière de l'Ordre National du Québec in 2015. Please find below links to both her obituary and the announcement of her 2015 award. Our thoughts are with her husband, Dr. David Karan, their children and grandchildren.

Myrna Delson-Karan -- Ordre National du Québec

Myrna Delson-Karan - New York Times

Funding Opportunity for Students:

For students and teachers -- 5th Summer University La Franchophonie des Ameriques

As the first book-length anthology on Xavier Dolan, this ReFocus International Directors volume seeks to make an intervention on the global reach of small national and subnational cinemas, and to use Dolan's cinema as a departure point to reconsider the position of Québec film and cultural imaginary within a global cinematic culture. They are currently accepting submissions on any aspect of Dolans œuvre, specifically for chapters touching on the following topics:
· The international reception of Dolan's films
· Local/Global reception
· Millennial filmmaking and reception, as it relates to Dolan
· Millennial queer filmmaking
· Millennial nostalgia in Dolan's films
The Films of Xavier Dolan will be one of the scholarly editions to be published by the University of Edinburgh Press in the ReFocus series on international directors. Series editors are Robert Singer, PhD and Gary D. Rhodes, PhD.
Proposals and CVs can be sent to by May 30, 2017. For more information, click here to view the full call for papers.

Calls For Papers

MLA Annual Convention in New York City, 4-7 January 2018.
Culture and Quebec literature. We will examine the complex ties between Quebec literature and the notion of culture (literary, elitist, popular, counterculture, ...). 250-word abstract and brief CV by 25 March 2017; Email: Frédéric Rondeau

ACSUS Conference, Deadline extended to May 15, 2017.

Resurfacing-Refaire surface Deadline: August 1, 2017.

Québec courses syllabi are found here: Course Syllabi